Foggy Headlight? Clean it up!

3 Oct

For some reason unknown to me, one of my car headlights was significantly foggy while the other is crystal clear. I have the worst night vision in the world, and a foggy headlight certainly wasn’t helping.

I had looked online for an at-home fix so I didn’t have to completely replace the plastic. A couple sites suggested using toothpaste, and I decided to give it a shot. I just squirted on some toothpaste and rubbed circularly with a rag. When I was finished, I rinsed off my car and viola! Here are my results:

The driver’s side headlight still isn’t as clear as the passenger, but it’s significantly better than it was before. I might try it again, but that’s my result after two tries.

2 Responses to “Foggy Headlight? Clean it up!”

  1. Clay October 20, 2012 at 2:42 am #

    That’s interesting. Do you always park in a position where sunlight hits just the left light?

    • Lauren October 20, 2012 at 8:33 am #

      I never thought of that. I park with the car covered, but it’s possible that the previous owner only got sun on one side.

Leave a Reply

