Spending $35 on $81 worth of items

8 Oct

Warning: couponing gives such a thrill that after you start, you won’t want to stop.

I am ecstatic that I was able to save so much money at CVS. Over the past week I:

  • Got $81.24 worth of full-retail price items
  • Those items were on sale for $68.16 with a CVS store card
  • I used $38.75 worth of manufacturer and store coupons
  • Spending $34.19 of actual cash
  • With $5 in CVS Extra Bucks still left for my next purchase

Click here for a detailed account of the items I purchased, their prices, and coupons used.

The key way for me to save during this week was to purchase items that both had relevant manufacturer coupons and gave significant Extra Bucks rewards. In the example of the women’s Venus Razor, it was sold for $6.99. I had a $3 off coupon, and received $5 back in extra bucks. Even considering tax, it’s like I was getting paid to take it away!

Since I could use so many coupons, I was able to splurge on a new Essie nail polish. I love being able to get myself little treats, and it will work great for my Halloween costume (details forthcoming).

The best part is that I still have $5 off any purchase at CVS between now and November 6th. The savings isn’t over!

One Response to “Spending $35 on $81 worth of items”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Simple Halloween Chocolate Craft « The Thrifty Ginger - October 10, 2012

    […] had purchased 6 of the “fun size” Hershey chocolate bars during my CVS shopping excursion last week. To attach them to the bat body, I used ZOTS adhesive dots that I already had. Double […]

Leave a Reply

