New York City Day Trip

12 Dec

On Sunday I took a day trip down to New York City to do some holiday activities with my boyfriend George and our friend Gio. The trip was a bit of a splurge, but we did manage a few cheap or free things.

We drove most of the way from the Albany area, and then rode on Metro North into Grand Central. That saved us money when comparing the price to Amtrak all the way down.

Central Park November 2012

It was a kind of a crummy day, but we did walk through a bit of Central Park. Our visit makes me want to go back when it’s warmer and nicer to spend the day wandering the paths.

Outside Sprinkles Cupcakes NYC

We stopped for some treats at Sprinkles Cupcakes, one of my favorites. Yummy!

NYC Shop Windows 2012

Looking at all the amazing shop windows is another great free activity in NYC. They are mostly on 5th Avenue. I was dying to go into Tiffanys, but restrained myself. That could only end in a purchase or disappointment. Later in the day I saw a preteen with a Tiffanys bag and I turned green with envy.

Rockefeller Center Christmas Tree

We, of course, saw the Rockefeller Plaza Christmas Tree. I was so excited! The area was quite crowded but we managed to sneak up to get close. We didn’t catch a glimpse of the ice skaters because it was just too crazy.

The rockettes 2012

Our big splurge of the trip was seeing the Rockettes at Radio City Music Hall. I had never been to the show, and just had to go! It was a lot of fun and a great performance to get you in the holiday spirit. We got discounted tickets through TravelZoo, but the price was still a bit much!

Rockefeller Center at Night

After a little more wandering around town, we went home for the night. It was a long day, but I’m so glad we did it.

George and I Happy Holidays

Have you been doing any fun activities to get into the holiday spirit?

4 Responses to “New York City Day Trip”

  1. Kate D'Anna December 12, 2012 at 8:43 am #

    When I was a little girl, my dad worked on Wall Street at the NY Stock Exchange, and we lived in north Jersey so he could commute to work every morning. We used to go into the city every holiday to see the rockets. Of course, I don’t remember a single trip, since it all happened in the first five years of my life, but this makes me want to go back and see it, so I can actually remember everything!

    Looks like you guys had a fun trip! Take one to Boston soon and we can do something together! 🙂

    • Kate D'Anna December 12, 2012 at 8:43 am #

      *Rockettes. Auto correct. >_>

    • Lauren December 12, 2012 at 9:19 am #

      Kate! George and I were just talking about a Boston trip, actually. His aunt is out there, as well as you, and some other friends of mine.
      Then we can have our own adventure!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Streaming Christmas Movies and Shows « The Thrifty Ginger - December 24, 2012

    […] Radio City Christmas Spectacular – In case you weren’t able to make it to New York, you can watch the Rockettes in the comfort of your own […]

Leave a Reply

