Snowflake Roll Cookies

14 Dec

For a recent holiday gathering at my house, I needed to make some kind of Christmas cookie. I decided on rolled sugar cookies in the shape of snowflakes because they have such a nice presentation.

Snowflake rolled sugar cookies

I followed “The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies” from AllRecipes, but cut it in half.

  •  3/4 cup butter, softened
  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2-1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  1. In a large bowl, cream together butter and sugar until smooth. Beat in eggs and vanilla. Stir in the flour, baking powder, and salt. Cover, and chill dough for at least one hour (or overnight). I like to chill the dough in separate balls. That way I only take out a portion at a time, and it’s easier to work with. 
  2. Preheat oven to 400 degrees F (200 degrees C). Roll out dough on floured surface 1/4 to 1/2 inch thick. Cut into shapes with any cookie cutter. I made all of mine as snowflakes. Place cookies 1 inch apart on ungreased cookie sheets. I use parchment paper to make the whole process easier.
  3. Bake 6 to 8 minutes in preheated oven. Cool completely.

 

After your cookies are cool, it’s time to frost them. I mix my own frosting with just milk and confectionary sugar. Watch out, you only need a little milk (an ounce or two) to coat all the cookies.

For the blue base coat, I used regular food coloring and made the frosting concoction a little runny, the consistency of regular yogurt. I dipped each cookie in the frosting and shook off the excess, placing it back on the parchment to harden up.

Easy way to frost cup with plastic baggie

After the base coat dried a little, I mixed frosting that was a little thicker, close to the consistency of canned frosting. I have a trick for loading frosting into a pipe-able bag. I just use standard sandwich bags, but I place them inside of a glass, folding over the edge. This makes it easier to scoop frosting in without the inside of the bag sticking together. I snipped a small corner, and added the detailing on the cookies. I left the frosting to dry overnight before stacking them.

Snowflake cookies on a plate

Each cookie had a completely different pattern that I made up as I went along.

I love the way these cookies look (and taste!). What is your go-to holiday cookie?

Leave a Reply

