Reinbeers

19 Dec

This week I am finishing up the last of my Christmas “to-do’s,” including some lingering gifts. On Monday I worked on a present for two men in my life- reinbeers!

Reinbeer Supplies

For supplies you’ll need beer (or bottled soda), brown pipe cleaners, red pom poms, and googly eyes. For the beer I went to a local shop where I assembled loose six packs. Both reinbeer recipients like to try new beverages. The other supplies I found at Joann’s, and paid $3.75 for.

I removed the labels off of the neck of the beer bottle before moving on. This is optional, but I decided the bottles looked better without the top label. To remove the labels from the top of the bottle, I first peeled as much as I could off. I then soaked the remaining label with a wet paper towel. When it was wet, the label remnants were much easier to remove, and I used a metal nail tool to help. This was by far the most annoying part of the project.

pipe cleaners for reinbeers

I then cut the pipe cleaners to roughly 9 inch and 3 inch pieces. I wrapped the longer piece around the top of the bottle, and twisted the smaller pieces on each end to make antlers. After attaching the antlers, I used hot glue to put on the googly eyes and nose.

12 reinbeers diy craft

I think these guys look so cute! It was a simple project, and is a perfect Christmas DIY gift for two of the men in my life.

a single reinbeer

5 Responses to “Reinbeers”

  1. Decorum DIYer December 19, 2012 at 8:42 am #

    Thank you for posting this and reminding me of this craft that I pinned oh so long ago. Exactly what my husband would appreciate (in moderation, of course). Great job!

  2. Liz December 19, 2012 at 10:10 pm #

    I saw this on Pinterest and was considering giving it a try for my “homemade” gift for my brother. Your reinbeers look great!

  3. cerrine December 20, 2012 at 7:51 pm #

    haha! First time seeing this and it’s so cute!

  4. Lauren December 22, 2012 at 8:08 pm #

    Thanks everyone! They were a hit with the guys.

  5. Chelsey January 16, 2013 at 3:34 pm #

    This is adorable! I need to save this and do it next year!

Leave a Reply

