Handmade Fabric Coasters

2 Jan

This past weekend I was able to finally finish a project I’ve had on my lap: homemade fabric coasters.

Fabric Coaster Supplies

For supplies, I used fabric quarters and matching felt from Joann’s. I bought much more fabric than I needed, but spent about $6.

3 edges sewed inside out coaster

For the coasters, I used a yellow pattern and a dark gray fabrics. I cut six 4.75 inch squares of each color. I machine sewed the squares with the print sides towards each other. Only sew 3 of the edges, and don’t sew all the way to the open edge.

stuffing the coasters with felt

Next, I flipped the squares to be right side out. I used a retracted pen to poke the corners, and then stuffed the inside with a felt lining. The squares of felt were just under 4 inches on each side.

folding down the remaining coaster edge

After each square had the felt lining snugged all the way to the bottom, I folded the open edge down into the coaster. I ironed the edge to keep it in place for the final sewing. This was the most difficult part of the project. I wanted that final edge to be even, but also had to sew close enough to the outside of the coaster to make sure the final edge stayed closed. I had to rip the seams on two of the coasters and redo them in order to get it right.

fabric coasters handmade diy

There you have it! A set of six fabric coasters. This project took about 2 hours and cost roughly $6, although I have enough material leftover to make at least 10 more coasters!

6 Responses to “Handmade Fabric Coasters”

  1. sarahtoma January 2, 2013 at 4:45 pm #

    nice! I bought some fabric coasters from ETSY a few years ago and still have them! They are great 🙂

    • Lauren January 3, 2013 at 10:42 am #

      Thanks. I love fabric coasters, too! These were actually a gift. I have a set of other ones I’ve been using, but some have gone missing. Maybe it’s time to make more for me!

      • sarahtoma January 3, 2013 at 12:37 pm #

        do it! i need to as well. My dog decided that one of them would make a great chew toy

  2. Amanda January 4, 2013 at 1:09 pm #

    Hey Lauren, great project! If you cut everything the same size, including the felt, you can see them all together all around and leave about a one inch opening (in the middle of a side to keep the corners in tact). Put the right sides together of your fabric, plus the felt on top. Keep a 1/4 inch seam, and then when you flip inside out (it actually becomes right side in), move your needle to make a slightly less than 1/4 inch seam for your border. It will be sure to capture the opening, but you will want to iron or pin it first. One of my favorite quick quilt gift projects 🙂
    — Amanda, your greenwood homie

    • Lauren January 4, 2013 at 1:13 pm #

      That is so much easier! Now I’m kicking myself, wondering why I didn’t do it that way.
      Next time I’m definitely going to try your suggestion.
      Also- thanks for reading my blog!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Stuffed Animal Duck | The Thrifty Ginger - March 4, 2013

    […] my design on computer paper, and selected my fabric. I had a patterned yellow print remaining from a fabric coaster project, and planned yellow felt for the wings and beak. My pattern was very basic, with two sides, and a […]

Leave a Reply

