Wrapped Glass Bottles

21 Jan

Wrapped Glass Bottles

I am still working on making my jewelry storage wall. Part of it will obviously need to store and display bracelets. To handle that task, I decided to make wrapped bottles.

bottles with peeled labels

I collected four bottles of slightly varied shapes. Before I got started, I removed as much of the labels as possible. I started to get really crazy trying to get the labels completely off, soaking them and using Goo Gone, before realizing that it wasn’t necessary for this project. Just do the best you can removing loose labels.

Metallic Cord

Deciding on what to wrap the bottles with was a bit of a challenge. I wanted something that would cover well, but that was sturdy and not super fuzzy. I ended up finding plastic canvas cord at Michael. It was $2 for 27 yards, which covered 1-2 bottles, depending on the size and shape.

Wrapping a glass bottle

To adhere the cord to the bottle I used hot glue. I started with a dot at the top and twisted the bottle to wrap the cord around. I would occasionally add more dots of hot glue to keep everything in place. It certainly wasn’t difficult, but you need to keep twisting and keep the slack tight. I would also suggest that you make sure your cord is completely tangle-free before beginning the covering process.

Wrapped bottles for bracelets

There you have it! This craft took about 1.5 hours in total time, although I probably could have done it faster. I’m really happy on how the metallic cord looks. I think it will be great to hold my bracelets! Now I just need to assemble this whole storage system. Eek!

3 Responses to “Wrapped Glass Bottles”

  1. lessonsasilearnthem January 21, 2013 at 3:48 pm #

    So cute! How do you do your necklaces? I’ve been trying to figure out how to organize them.

    • Lauren January 21, 2013 at 4:04 pm #

      That is my next project- a whole jewelry wall! I am planning on putting hooks on the inside of picture frames (frames without the glass). We’ll see how it goes!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Easter Bunny Garland | The Thrifty Ginger - March 15, 2013

    […] traced and cut out all my shapes, and hot glued on the tails. I used silver cord from a past project and hot glued each bunny to the […]

Leave a Reply

