Transforming White Sneakers

18 Feb

transforming white sneakers shoes

I have been on the lookout for new shoes and sneakers recently since many of my pairs are wearing thin. A couple weeks ago I spotted plain white tennis shoes in Target for less than $4, and decided that was a good enough deal. I planned on transforming them with fabric markers, and this weekend I was able to go through with my project.

coloring oxford pattern onto white tennis shoes

My design is based upon an image that I saw online to make the sneakers look like oxford shoes. Really, you could do any design you wanted. I used a gray fabric marker from Michaels for coloring, although it turned out quite blue. Before coloring with the fabric marker, I traced the pattern on each shoe with a marking pencil. Then I just went to town filling in the pattern.

oxford tennis shoes diy craft

I’m not sure these will become a new weekly staple, but they’re certainly going to be a welcome addition to my shoe rotation, especially in the summer.

8 Responses to “Transforming White Sneakers”

  1. arayofsun February 18, 2013 at 7:45 pm #

    So creative! I love this take on the very trendy oxford!

    • Lauren February 18, 2013 at 9:35 pm #

      Thank you!!

  2. thriftyourheartout February 18, 2013 at 8:27 pm #

    Those are too cute!

    • Lauren February 19, 2013 at 3:44 pm #

      🙂 Thanks!

  3. Jennifer S February 19, 2013 at 3:41 pm #

    These are amazing. They really do look like oxfords quite a bit. Love your blog so far and just started following. Keep up the great work 🙂

    • Lauren February 19, 2013 at 3:43 pm #

      Thank you so much! I’m glad you like them.
      I’m relatively new to blogging, so I’m just trying to get better and more interesting every week. I’m happy to have you as a follower!

  4. twopurplecouches February 20, 2013 at 10:32 pm #

    Super cute!!! What a great way to dress up plain white sneakers!

  5. misseychelles February 22, 2013 at 5:02 pm #

    Amazing!!:)

Leave a Reply

