Attempted Tee-shirt Remake

22 Feb

There are plenty of people out there that are able to refashion old or ill-fitting clothing into something new and stylish. I’m not sure that I am quite ready to join that group, but last night I tried my hand at a t-shirt refashion.

tee shirt remake before

George had ordered two different sizes of a bargain bin t-shirt from Target, and didn’t end up liking either one. Since he didn’t return them in time, I got an opportunity to try my hand at restyling a tee into a racer back.

I found the one racer back shirt I own and used it as a guideline to trace on top of the smaller Target tee. I took great care to measure out each side to make sure it was even (the stripes were very helpful with that). Once I cut out the pieces, the arm holes were just too big. The shirt looked goofy, and I knew I would never wear it. In my haste to get the shirt off, I forgot to take a picture.

tee shirt refashion halter

I couldn’t just give up there, though. Next, I decided I would try to make it into a halter. I cut straight across the back. I used the extra back to continue two long strings from the top of the shirt. Too nervous to ruin the shirt by cutting the front neckline lower, I left it reasonably high.

I am not sure if I like this redesigned halter tee. I can’t really picture wearing it out, but I might change my mind for a hot summer day. What do you think?

3 Responses to “Attempted Tee-shirt Remake”

  1. littletombo February 22, 2013 at 3:20 pm #

    Hey, just to let you know, I nominated you for the ‘Very Inspiring Blog Award’. See link for details: http://littletombo.wordpress.com/2013/02/22/very-inspiring-blog-award/

    • Lauren February 22, 2013 at 3:24 pm #

      AAHHH!! THANK YOU SO MUCH!
      That’s very sweet of you.

      • littletombo February 22, 2013 at 3:32 pm #

        What can I say. I love making people happy. 😀
        I really love your blog. 🙂

Leave a Reply

