Scalloped Felt Wreath

25 Feb

Scalloped Felt Wreath

The other day I was feeling a bit overwhelmed and tired of the cold weather. I was near a Joann’s fabrics, so I decided to pick up supplies to make a cheery scalloped felt wreath.

materials supplies for wreath craft

I purchased 3 different types of felt—a blue, a teal, and a light gray. I got a foot of each, but since the felt is usually so long, you really could get away with much less. I also got a 12-inch diameter foam wreath, found in the floral section. I didn’t want to spend the money on it, but couldn’t think of a suitable alternative to make at home. For the record, this size foam wreath was $5 at Joann’s and $6 at Michaels.

I made up a template for the scallop pattern that I wanted. You can download the template here.

wavy edge felt wreath craft

For my wreath and template, I needed just about 15 cut outs of each color. If you trace out the pattern, you can put the flat sides back-to-back to save felt. I cut through two layers at once to save time.

felt wreath in progress front and back

I used hot glue to adhere the felt to the wreath. Don’t use too much, or it will show through! Work your way around, stacking the scalloped sides and gluing the edges on the back.

the last piece felt wreath

On the last piece, I cut the wavy shape on both sides of the felt.

scalloped pattern

After I was finished with the wreath, I made a simple purple fabric bow and attached to one side.

scalloped felt wreath diy how to

I absolutely love how this project turned out. It took about 2 hours, and is a happy addition to my apartment.

3 Responses to “Scalloped Felt Wreath”

  1. Katy@TheOpenDoor February 25, 2013 at 5:57 pm #

    I love this! Very cute idea!

    • Lauren February 26, 2013 at 9:30 am #

      Thanks! (and thank you for stopping by!)

  2. twopurplecouches February 26, 2013 at 1:03 pm #

    Very cute! And definitely cheery 🙂

Leave a Reply

