Clover Stamp DIY

27 Feb

DIY four leafed clover stampThe other day I was looking through my desk drawer, and I realized how many note cards I have. That’s when it dawned on me that I need to send out more letters or else I’ll lose the battle against my cards and have multiple drawers overflowing.

pencil eraser stamp craft diy

The next holiday I can think of is St. Patrick Day, so I got going on using blank stationary. I even already had green envelopes! I decided to make a simple heart stamp to use as leaves on a four-leafed clover.

how to carve eraser stamp

I found a pencil that had an unused, level eraser. I drew a heart design on the top, and then used an X-ACTO knife (I always thought it was “exacto knife”) to cut around the heart. It’s fairly simple to cut since there’s two straight edges to the heart, but just be careful!

st patricks day card diy craft

Fortunately, I already had a number of green inkpads. I used my new heart shaped stamp on those to make a clover design. I wanted the 4-leafed clovers to be lucky, so I just stamped four heart designs.

four leaf clover card

This was very simple, but looks so cute! I guess I’m ready for March!

8 Responses to “Clover Stamp DIY”

  1. Decorum DIYer February 27, 2013 at 10:17 am #

    Very ‘clover’. (Gee, I really need to stop using cheesy puns.) In all seriousness, I love this idea. So easy!

    • Lauren February 27, 2013 at 10:24 am #

      haha! Please don’t stop using puns- I love them.
      Thanks!

  2. Jennifer S February 27, 2013 at 5:29 pm #

    Never thought of using a pencil top for a stamp. I wonder what I can do with this and a little bit of fabric paint 🙂

    • Lauren February 27, 2013 at 8:19 pm #

      I know! It would be great for polka dots, too!

  3. theadventurebeginsblog February 27, 2013 at 9:48 pm #

    Love this! So easy! Plus I have a bunch of old pencils lying around in my junk drawer that can be put to good use.

    • Lauren February 28, 2013 at 9:28 am #

      When I went looking for a pencil I found dozens and dozens of forgotten pens and pencils in a drawer.
      Thanks for stopping by!

  4. TheGreatZambini February 28, 2013 at 6:15 pm #

    I think it would be best to use a dry and hard pencil eraser for this, as you wouldn`t want to mess up a useful one.

    • Lauren February 28, 2013 at 7:22 pm #

      That makes sense! I just have so many extra pencils that it didn’t matter much.

Leave a Reply

