Glittery Picture Frame

6 Mar

easy glitter picture frame craft

Sometimes I start a project, and while I’m working on it, I realize that things aren’t going to end as I planned. That’s what happened last night with a picture frame improvement craft.

picture frame painting craft diy

I wanted to gift a friend a cute frame, and was very pleased to find an unused 4X6 black and silver frame stored in my apartment. I didn’t buy it recently, but at the time I got it for a dollar! It wasn’t in bad shape, but since I am going to give the frame to a girlfriend, I wanted it to be jazzy and fun. I originally intended to do pink polka dots.

polka dot frame fail diy

I had hot pink craft paint and used the back end of an eraser to make the dots. It did not work. The frame is enamel and the paint wouldn’t evenly apply, and the coverage was spotty. I tried to wipe it off, but it was too late. I tried to paint over it with white craft paint, but that was also was streaky.

craft picture frame glue glitter

Just about to give up, I went back to where I store all my craft supplies and found fine black glitter. Bingo! I painted the frame with Elmer’s school glue and tossed on the glitter. It covered perfectly and was so easy.

diy frame glitter repurpose

Now that I’m done, I can’t believe that I didn’t start with the glitter. It looks so fun, and I can’t wait to give it to my friend.

5 Responses to “Glittery Picture Frame”

  1. Jennifer S March 6, 2013 at 3:35 pm #

    super cute

    • Lauren March 6, 2013 at 3:39 pm #

      Thank you! I’m just glad it turned out nicely in the end! 🙂

  2. twopurplecouches March 6, 2013 at 8:14 pm #

    the glitter is fantastic, as glitter almost always is. a great way to revamp an old frame!

    • Lauren March 7, 2013 at 3:39 pm #

      I know- I love glitter! It makes me want to just glitter-ize EVERYTHING.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Bachelorette Party Box | The Thrifty Ginger - March 13, 2013

    […] essentials: a little bottle of alcohol, pink nail polish, silly sunglasses, a light-up ring, and my home-glittered picture frame. Inside the frame I added a funny little drawing of all us party […]

Leave a Reply

