70’s Casserole | Recipe

27 Mar

If you are looking for a way to use leftover rice, I have the answer for you. Occasionally George and I will treat ourselves to a lazy mid-week dinner of Chinese food. We almost always have rice remaining, and I’m not about to waste it. That’s when I make what I call “Weird 70s Casserole.”

using_leftover_rice_white_takeout

It is named mostly because of the condensed soup that I use. All of my very health-conscious coworkers love the smell of the final product, and I enjoy the taste. Don’t let the name scare you off!

Casserole_ingredients_recipe

This time I had cream of celery, but you can use whatever creamed condensed soup you want. You’ll also need some broccoli and/or cauliflower.

To make the casserole, combine in a ceramic, covered dish:

  • the condensed cream soup
  • about half of a can of milk
  • your pre-cooked rice (about a cup would be ideal. variation is fine)
  • 2+ cups of broccoli and/or cauliflower (I used a whole bag of frozen broccoli, because that’s what I had on hand)
  • a third of a cup of shredded cheese

Cook, covered, in the oven at 350 degrees F for 30-40 minutes.

weird_70s_casserole_recipe_rice_brocolli

Since this is a recipe designed to use what you have on hand, it is very flexible. I love it as an easy meal that uses up leftovers and can be brought in for lunch.

Leave a Reply

